Varied Terrain: My Unexpected Journey into Leadership

meThis summer I returned to my roots and went backcountry backpacking in the Canadian Rockies. The trip lasted three days and covered about 60 km and 3,000 feet of elevation. (I wore Vibram Spyridon LS, incidentally. I may review the shoes in a future post…)

vibram

Although I grew up playing in the Rockies, it still amazes me how incredibly and unpredictably varied is mountain terrain. Over 60 km, we travelled through trees and fields and rock slides. We marched over trickling, mountain streams and by (and into!) clear, glacial lakes; down winding ravines and up to rock-spewing waterfalls; through wet, dense forest and into expansive, flower-filled vistas; beneath still cliffs and along rushing rivers. It amazes me not only how radically mountain terrain varies within a relatively compact area, but how quickly and unexpectedly it transforms. Round a bend and we are suddenly standing somewhere completely different, a fresh encounter on the journey.

Over the past couple years, my life has rounded bends and led to terrain I never saw coming. I trained to school people about the New Testament; now, I lead an organization that employs others to do the schooling. Although not the terrain I set out to encounter, however, I am amazed at how this journey into leadership remains somehow still my path, an unexpected yet natural extension of God’s call on my life.

Leadership has been a fresh encounter on my journey. For the past couple years, I’ve been voraciously self-educating in areas of business, management, and leadership that previously held little interest to me. I continue to study and learn.

Over the next few weeks, I will share on this blog some of my favourite books and resources that have marked this recent leg of my journey. Meanwhile, I’ll just share a few pictures from my trip to the mountains!

field forest Glacial lake Glacier and waterfall wildflowers

 

One thought on “Varied Terrain: My Unexpected Journey into Leadership

Leave a Reply

